• 1957990414.jpg
  • alluvione_brasile_800_800.jpg
  • fotoArticolo_3177.jpg
  • stazionebrignole2011_1.jpg
  • stazionebrignole2011_2.jpg
  • viaxxsettembre_1.jpg


DRIHM presents an interesting video explaining the objectives and best practices of the project

frame video

Login Form

The International Advisory Board 

The International Advisory Board (IAB), under the chairmanship of project co-ordinator, meets, twice a year, to offer perspectives on a broad range of matters of concern to the DRIHM project.

IAB members are invited to comment on strategic directions of DRIHM project, and on practical opportunities to ensure the international dimension of the project. They are invited to join in recognition of their experience, positions of international prominence and influence in the HMR and Grid communities, respectively, and their willingness to contribute to DRIHM project agenda.




Efi Foufoula-Georgiou

Efi Foufoula-Georgiou is a University of Minnesota McKnight Distinguished Professor in the Department of Civil Engineering and the Joseph T. and Rose S. Ling Chair in Environmental Engineering. She is Director of the NSF Science and Technology Center “National Center for Earth-surface Dynamics” (NCED), and has served as Director of St. Anthony Falls Laboratory at the University of Minnesota. Her area of research is hydrology and geomorphology, with special interest on scaling theories, multiscale dynamics and space-time modeling of precipitation and landforms. She has served as associate editor of Water Resources Research, J. of Geophysical Research, Advances in Water Resources, Hydrologic and Earth System Sciences, and as editor of J. Hydrometeorology. She is currently the chair of the Board of Directors for CUAHSI (Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Sciences), a member of the Board of Trustees of UCAR (University Corporation for Atmospheric Research), and a member of the Advisory Council of the GEO directorate of NSF.



Mathias Rotach

Full Professor for Dynamic Meteorology at the University of Innsbruck, Austria. As the chairman for the World Weather Research Program’s project D-PHASE (Demonstration of Probabilistic Hydrological and Atmospheric Simulation of flood Events in the alpine region), Mathias Rotach has brought together different aspects of flood forecasting - from the observations to ensemble hydrological modeling - in a real-time application with extremely good outreach. At the same time he helped to shape the COST action 731 (‘Uncertainty propagation in hydro-meteorological forecasting systems’), where he served as a working group chair. 
Longstanding experience in boundary layer meteorology, atmospheric turbulence and dynamics, as well as numerical modeling (NWP) - with over 150 peer reviewed papers and conference contributions over the years. Member of scientific steering committees of large international research projects (such as MAP, COPS), of WMO’s working group on Mesoscale Weather Forecast Research (World Weather Research Programme, WWRP), the Program Council for the Hans Ertel Centre on Weather Research (Germany), Editorial Board of Boundary Layer Meteorology and, until 2008, chairman of the COSMO Consortium (on high-resolution numerical modeling). 



Per Öster

Dr Per Öster is Director of Application Services at CSC – IT Center for Science Ltd, Finland. Per joined CSC in 2007 to lead the Application Service Area with the mission of provisioning and support of distributed computing infrastructures and development, maintenance and support of scientific and engineering software.
Per has more than 20 years of experience in computational science from both academia and industry. Recent specific commitments and positions of trust include chair of both the European Grid Initiative Council (EGI) and the EGI.eu Foundation executive board, and member of the Enabling Grids for eScince (EGEE) Project Management Boards.



Stefano Nativi

Coordinator of the Earth and Space Science Informatics Laboratory of the National Research Council of Italy. Adjunct Professor of “Systems for land management” at the University of Padua. Expert on multi-disciplinary interoperability and cyber(e)-infrastructures for Earth Sciences. Research and operational experience in the fields of Geospatial Information, Earth Observation, and international standardization. He is co-chair of the GEO Science & Technology Committee and lead of the European Team of the GEO Standard and Interoperability Forum (EuroSIF). He is president of the Earth and Space Sciences Informatics (ESSI) division of the European Geosciences Union (EGU). He is member of the INSPIRE Drafting Teams for Metadata and Data Specification: Atmospheric Conditions & Meteorological geographical features. SIF Award medal appointed by the IEEE ICEO for the work done to advance GEO-GEOSS multi-disciplinary interoperability.



V. Chandrasekar (Chandra)

Full Professor of Engineering at the Colorado State University. Finland Distinguished Professor on Earth Observation, University of Helsinki. Dr. Chandrasekar (Chandra) has made pioneering contributions in the area of “Polarimetric Radar Observations of the Atmosphere”. Dr. Chandra has extensive experience in Radar System Design, Radar Network Development, DSP Design as well as RF Communication Systems. He has contributed significantly to the areas weather radar and applications to Atmospheric Sciences. He is a Co-PI and the Deputy director of the NSF Engineering Research Center, CASA (Center for Collaborative Adaptive Sensing of the Atmosphere), where he serves as the Research Director and provides leadership for the sensing research thrust. He has been a PI or Co-PI on several national level programs such as the Advanced Communication Technology Satellite (ACTS) program at CSU, DARPA NGI program, the current NASA TRMM mission and the future NASA GPM mission. He was elected Fellow of IEEE, The American Meteorological Society and CIRA in recognition of his contributions to “Quantitative Remote Sensing”.

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see the Cookie Policy page.

I accept cookies from this site.